At EuroSun 2024,ISES will be honoured to present the ISES 2023 Fellow Award to Prof Lars Broman (Dalarna University + Strömstad Academy, Sweden). 

Presented every two years, the ISES Fellow Award honours a member of ISES who has been a member for at least ten consecutive years and has served with distinction in the advancement of solar energy utilization by way of research, education, public service, and/or service to ISES.

Prof. Broman will be honoured for his 35+ years of dedicated work in the field of solar energy education and his dedicated support of the ISES mission.

Prof. Broman established the first undergraduate program in Solar Energy in Sweden and Initiated the Solar Energy Research Center SERC in 1984. In 1989, he co-established the International Association for Solar Energy Education IASEE and initiated the European Solar Engineering School ESES in 1999. He also established the International Symposium of Renewable Energy Education, ISREE in 1991 and 2020, Prof. Broman was named a Pioneer of Solar Energy Research by ISES. At ISES, Prof. Broman continues his work e.g. as a member of the ISES museums committee which created the ISES Online Solar Energy Museum.